NDT Testing Personnel Qualification and Certification Standards:

ASNT Recommended Practice No. SNT-TC-1A

National Aerospace Standard NAS-410

ASNT Standard CP-189



Military Standard MIL-STD-410E

Air Transport Association Standard ATA - 105

International Standard ISO 9712

Canadian CGSB-48.9712

ISO 9712
International Standard for Nondestructive Testing Personnel Qualification and Certification

ISO 9712 was published in 1992 as an international standard that would be mutually recognized by participating nations. This document is similar to SNT-TC-1A in that personnel qualifications are based on education, training, experience and qualification examinations.

ISO 9712 uses the Level I, II and III qualification designations. A key issue is that employer-based certification is not acceptable. NDT personnel certification must be obtained from third party “Nationally Recognized Certification Body”. Additionally, ISO 9712 specifies significantly more training time than SNT-TC-1A specifically in Liquid Penetrant Testing , Magnetic Particle Testing, Radiographic Testing and Ultrasonic Testing methods.

Unfortunately, some countries do not recognize each other’s ISO 9712 programs particularly where practical examinations are performed differently for qualification.

Various national programs exist such as the Canadian General Standards Board CAN/CGSB - 48.9712 - in Canada, and Personnel Certification in Nondestructive Testing (PCN) administered by the British Institute for Nondestructive Testing (BINDT) in the UK.

The American Society for Nondestructive Testing developed the ACCP (ASNT Central Certification Program) to satisfy ISO 9712 in the United States.

Home | Consulting | Training | Qualification | Course Registration | Calendar | About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Site Map
Copyright 1994-2019 PQT Services Company. All Rights Reserved