NDT Testing Personnel Qualification and Certification Standards:

ASNT Recommended Practice No. SNT-TC-1A

National Aerospace Standard NAS-410

ASNT Standard CP-189



Military Standard MIL-STD-410E

Air Transport Association Standard ATA - 105

International Standard ISO 9712

Canadian CGSB-48.9712

ANSI / ASNT CP-189 2011

ASNT CP-189 was approved by the ASNT Board of Directors in January, 1989 as a standard for the qualification and certification of NDT personnel. The intent was to produce a new document that provided strict requirements rather than simply guidelines. ASNT obtained ANSI accreditation to process this document through a consensus balloting process that would recognize ASNT CP-189 as a national standard. The first successful consensus document became the ANSI/ASNT CP-189-1996 followed with ANSI/ASNT CP-189-2001 and ANSI/ASNT CP-189-2006.

ANSI/ASNT CP-189 is similar to SNT-TC-1A in terms of training, experience, examinations, etc.; however, the standard provides minimum requirements that do not permit changes and several significant differences were introduced to strengthen the NDT personnel qualification and certification program:

  • Employer certification requires an ASNT NDT Level III certificate in the method.
  • Qualified training must be provided by qualified instructors, typically, an ASNT NDT Level III.
Home | Consulting | Training | Qualification | Course Registration | Calendar | About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Site Map
Copyright 1994-2019 PQT Services Company. All Rights Reserved